Speed Post News Network

Patna : The Government on August 27, 2019, announced the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2018. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India along with other Sports Awardees at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2019. They will receive statuettes, certificates, and award money of Rs 5 lakh each.

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards are given every year to recognise the achievements of persons in the fields of adventure, to encourage young people to develop the spirit of endurance, risk–taking, cooperative team work and quick, ready and effective reflexes in challenging situations and to provide incentive to the young people for getting exposed to the adventure activities. The award is given in four categories namely Land Adventure, Water Adventure, Air Adventure and Life Time Achievement, according to a PIB release.

This year National Selection Committee was constituted under the chairpersonship of Secretary (Youth Affairs). The Committee had expert members from the field of adventure.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards on the following:

Sl. No. Name Category
1. Ms. Aparna Kumar Land Adventure
2. Late Shri Dipankar Ghosh Land Adventure
3.  Manikandan K. Land Adventure
4.  Prabhat Raju Koli Water Adventure
5.  RameshwerJangra Air Adventure
6.  Wangchuk Sherpa Life Time Achievement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *