Speed Post News Network

Nawada: Pushpa Devi, NDA’s scheduled caste district board member from Govindpur, was elected as the chairperson of  Nawada district board on Wednesday afternoon. She defeated her JD(U) rival Pinki Bharti, also an SC aspirant from Rajauli, by just a single vote. While Pushpa secured 13 votes, Pinki got 12 votes. However, JD(U)’s Gita Devi pipped NDA’s Birendra Singh by a solitary vote for the vice-chairpersons post. While Gita secured 13 votes, Birendra got 12. While the chairperson’s post was reserved for the SC, the vice-chairperson’s post was a general seat.

While Hisua BJP MLA Anil Singh and Warisaliganj BJP MLA Aruna Devi’s husband, Akhilesh Singh, a former don, formed the NDA’s ‘high command’, JD(U)’s Govindpur’s former three-term MLA Kaushal Yadav and chargesheeted Nawada RJD MLA Raj Ballabh Yadav’s nephew Ashok Yadav, constituted the Mahagathbandhan’s ‘high command’. Ashok Yadav is yet to be arrested for allegedly vandalizing houses and property of upper caste Pathra English villagers in May.

The media was barred from covering the election process and asked to stand throughout the three-hour long process beside the foul-smelling toilet door on the first floor of Nawada collectorate building. After Nawada DM Manoj Kumar gave away the winning certificates, both the chairperson and vice-chairperson rushed to fulfil the “gor-lagai” (feet touching) ritual of their political masters who kept low profile during the protracted election process.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *