Speed Post News Network

Patna : India beat New Zealand by 53 runs in the first T20 International at Feroz Shah KotlaGround, Delhi, on November 1, 2017, night. It was India’s win over New Zealand in T20 International. New Zealand had earlier defeated India in all five T 20 Internationals. Asked to bat first by New Zealand, which won the toss, India made 202/3 riding on explosive batting by openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan both of whom scored 80 runs each and were involved in a 158 run partnership for the first wicket.

Rohit Sharma scored 80 in 55 balls hitting four sixes and 6 fours while Dhawan made 80 in 52 balls hitting 10 fours and two sixes. The first Indian wicket fell on 158 when Dhawan was out. Hardik Pandya was out for a duck at 158 while Rohit Sharma’s wicket fell on 185. Captain Virat Kohli remained unbeaten on 26 and M S Dhoni was 7 not out. Kohli made 26 in 11 balls hitting three sixes while Dhoni hit one six. For New Zealand, spineer Ish Shodhi took 2/25 and Trent Boult 1/49.

In reply, New Zealand madeĀ  149/8 in 20 overs with Tom Latham scoring 39 hitting three fours and a six while Captain K Williamson made 28 hitting a four and a six. Martin Guptil was out for four while C Munro madeĀ  seven runs. M Santner made 27 hitting two sixes and equal number of fours.

For India, Y Chahal took 2/ 26 and Axar Patel 2/20 while Jasprit Bumrah took 1/37 and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar 1/23. Hardik Pandya took 1/11. H Nicholls was run out. Ashish Nehra, who was playing last match of his 19 year old International career, failed to take any wicket. Nehra took retirement from International cricket on November 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *