Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated New Zealand by six runs in the rain truncated third T20 International at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthpuram, Kerala, on November 7, 2017, night, to win the three-match T20 series 2-1.

Asked to bat first by New Zealand, which won the toss, India made 67/5 in 8 overs with Manish Pandey scoring 17, skipper Virat Kohli 13, Rohit Sharma 8, Shikhar Dhawan 6, Sheyas Iyer 6, and Hardik Pandya 14 not out. For New Zealand, Tim Southee took 2/13, Ish Sodhi 2/23 and Trent Boult 1/3 wicket.

Replying to India’s 67/5, New Zealand could score only 61/6 in 8 overs with C de Grandhomme scoring 17, wicketkeeper G Phillips 11, Captain K Williamson 8 and Colin Munro 7 runs. Martin Guptil was out for one and H Nicholls made two runs. India won due to superb performance of the bowlers and fielders. Jasprit Bumrah took 2/9, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar 1/18, Kuldip Yadav 1/10. Y Chahal did not get a wicket but he away only 8 runs in two overs. Bumrah took the wickets of Munro and Nicholls while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar took the wicket of Guptil. Williamson and T Bruce were run out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *