Speed Post News Network

Chas (Jharkhand) : Paying respect to the architects of the society and the makers of tomorrow, DPS Chas in Bokaro District, Jharkhand, celebrated Teachers’ Day on its campus with great enthusiasm. The theme of the event was “ACHARYA – A tribute to teachers. The presence of teachers in their traditional finery marked the occasion.

The occasion was graced by Chief Mentor, DPS Chas, Dr Hemlata S Mohan, Suresh Agarwal, Member, DPS Chas,  and Dean Academics Dr Sanjay Kumar Mallick.

The celebration started with the lamp lighting and paying homage to former president D. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, a philosopher and a great teacher known for his contribution to the Education System of India. With his soulful voice, Subhojit Mishra, in collaboration with percussionist Ranjan Ghosh, presented the song ‘Chaap Tilak’ which was followed by a group dance by the teachers who enthralled the gathering. After this, a ramp walk competition was organised for the teachers.  The event was a vibrant mix of colourful tradition, music and dance. The colourful costumes created an ambience full of vigour and zest.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Hemlata S Mohan, Chief Mentor, DPS Chas, said, “Teachers nourish and prepare students for their future as they are the real icons of knowledge and wisdom. They create awareness among the students and common people. Our teachers are the true pillars of our success. A Teacher’s determination and sincerity shapes the destiny of the nation.” Expressing her heartfelt gratitude to her mother as a first teacher in her life. Dr Mohan thanked all her teachers. She highlighted the features of National Education Policy (NEP) and expressed her confidence in NEP providing joyful learning experiences to students, thus, laying foundation of resilient and progressive society.

Dean Academics Dr Sanjay Kumar Mallik appreciated the efforts of the teachers in this unprecedented time caused to the Coid-19 pandemic. He conveyed his overwhelming regards for the task which each teacher selflessly does to carve the crude stone into a structure of magnificence.

The programme was anchored by Shilpi Kumari and Arti Sharma while the vote of thanks was given by Dean Academics Dr Sanjay Kumar Mallik. The celebration created many memories to be cherished forever while ensuring Covid 19 precautions and social distancing.