Speed Post News Network

Patna : World No 1 Novak Djokovic, 33, Serbia, and World No 2 Rafael Nadal, 34, Spain, have won their respective first Group Stage matches in Nitto ATP Finals at O2 arena, London, UK.

Djokovic defeated Diego Schwartzman, 28, Argentina, in straight sets 6-3, 6-2 on November 16, 2020, night, while Nadal defeated Andrey Rublev, 23, Russia, in straight sets 6-3, 6-4 on November 15, 2020, late night.

Djokovic, the winner of 17 Grand Slam singles titles, has won the ATP Finals trophy five time while Nadal, the winner of record equalling 20 Grand Slam singles titles, is yet to win this trophy. Roger Federer, Switzerland, who is not playing this year due to injury, has won the ATP Finals trophy six times. It is a week-long event held in November. The tournament will move to Turin, Italy, in 2021.

Djokovic won 4 break points in the match to 1 by Schwartzman in the match. The Serbian fired 7 Aces in the match to 1 by the Argentine. Djokovic also won 5 games in a row to 2 by Schwartzman. The Serbian, in all, won 59 points in the match to 40 by the Argentine. Djokovic, however, also committed to 2 double faults to none by Schwartzman.

Nadal won 2 break points in his match against Rublev. The Spainiard, in all, won 63 points to 49 by the Russian. Nadal also won 3 games in a row in the match. Rublev though fired 9 Aces to just 2 by Nadal, who will next face US Open Champion and & World No 3 Dominic Thiem, 27, Austria, on November 17, 2020. Stefanos Tsitsipas, Greece, had won the singles title in 2019.

Daniil Medvedev, 24, Russia, will face Alexander Zverev, 23, Germany, on November 17, 2020..