Speed Post News Network

New Delhi: The Government of India on Monday decided to bring the provisions of amended RBI Act,1934, for the constitution of Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) into force so that statutory basis of MPC is made effective.  Rules governing the procedure for Selection of Members of Monetary Policy Committee and Terms and Conditions of their Appointment and factors constituting failure to meet inflation target under the MPC Framework was notified on Monday.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

With a view to maintain price stability, while keeping in mind the objective of growth, the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 (RBI Act) has been amended by the Finance Act, 2016, to provide for a statutory and institutionalised framework for a Monetary Policy Committee (MPC). A Committee-based approach will add lot of value and transparency to monetary policy decisions.

Out of the six Members of MPC, three Members will be from the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), including the Governor, who will be the ex-officio Chairperson, the Deputy Governor, RBI, and one officer of RBI. The other three Members of MPC will be appointed by the Central Government on the recommendations of a Search-cum-Selection Committee, which will be headed by the Cabinet Secretary. These three Members of MPC will be experts in the field of economics or banking or finance or Monetary policy and will be appointed for a period of 4 years and shall not be eligible for re-appointment. The meetings of the MPC shall be held at least 4 times a year and it shall publicise its decisions after each such meeting.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *