Speed Post News Network

Patna : Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets in the rain affected first match of T20I tri-series also involving England at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney, Australia, under D/L method on February 3, 2018.

Asked to bat first by Australia, who won the toss, New Zealand made a diastrous start losing first four wickets for only 34 runs. The New Zealand team finally crawled to 117/9 in 20 overs riding on an unbeaten 38 in 24 balls hitting 1 four and 3 sixes by all rounder Colin de Grandhomme and 24 by former captain Ross Taylor. New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson made only 8 runs.

ForĀ  Australia, young fast bolwer Billy Stanlake, 23, who was making his international debut in the match, rocked the New Zealand with his 3/15 in 4 overs. Andrew Tye took 4/23 in 4 overs while spinner A Agar took 1/22.

Chasing a victory target of 118 runs, Australia were 96/3 in 11.3 overs when the play was stopped due to rain and they were declared winner under D/L method. Australia’s makeshift Captain David Warner’s poor form continues as he made only 6 runs while his opening partner D Short made 4. Chris Lynn made 44 runs in 33 balls hitting 6 fours and a six. Glen Maxwell remained unbeaten on 40 in 24 balls hitting 5 four and a six while wicketkeeper A Carey was yet to score. Trent Boult took 2/14 in 3 overs while Tim Southee took 1/27 in 2.3 overs. Australian fast bowler Stanlake was declared Player of the Match.

The first three matches of the tri-series will be held in Australia and remaining three in New Zealand as they are hosting the event jointly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *