Speed Post News Network

Patna : South Africa (SA) thumped Bangladesh (BAN) by 6 wickets in a Group 1 match of ICC T20 World Cup at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, UAE, on November 2, 2021, as fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje took three wickets each while spinner Tabraiz Shamsi took two wickets. Kagiso Rabada was named Player Of The Match. It was SA’s 3rd win in 4 games. SA won the toss and opted to bowl.

Batting first, Bangladesh were bundled out for just 84 runs in 18.2 ovders with opener Liton Das (wk) scoring 24 runs and spinner Mahedi Hasan scoring 27 runs . Captain Mahmudullah fell to fast bowler Anrich Nortje for 3. Opener Mohd Naim fell to fast bowler Kagiso Rabada for 9. Soumya Sarkar also fell to Rabada for zero. Rabada took 3/20 in 4 overs while Nortje took 3/8 in 3.2 overs. Shamsi took 2/21 in 4 overs.

Chasing a target of 85 runs, SA scored 86/4 in 13.3 overs with captain Temba Bavuma scoring an unbeaten 31 runs while Rassie van der Dussen scored 22 runs. Opener Quinton de Kock scored 16 runs while Aiden Markram was out for a duck.