Speed Post News Network

New Delhi : Rajiv Kumar assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India on September 1, 2020. Kumar joins the Election Commission of India with Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra.

Born on February 19, 1960, Rajiv Kumar is a 1984 batch Indian Administrative Service Officer.  During the span of more than 36 years of Government of India service, he has worked in various Ministries at the Centre and his state cadre of Bihar/Jharkhand, according to a PIB release. Kumar has been appointed Election Commissioner after Ashok Lavasa resigned from the post recently to join the ADB.

Acquiring his academic degrees of B.SC, LL.B, PGDM, and MA Public Policy, Kumar has extensive work experience across Social Sector, Environment & Forests, Human Resources, Finance and Banking Sector. He has keen commitment to use of technology applications and to bring about amendments in extant policy regime towards greater transparency, delivery of services to citizens directly eliminating intermediaries.

Kumar retired as Finance Secretary, Government of India in February 2020. He was thereafter appointed as Chairman, Public Enterprises Selection Board from April 2020 till demitting office on August 31, 2020.  He was Establishment Officer, Department of Personnel and Training, from 2015-17 and prior to that Joint Secretary, Department of Expenditure,with earlier assignments in Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Ministry of Environment and Forests as also Education department in State cadre. He is an avid trekker with keen interest in Indian classical and devotional music.