Speed Post News Network

Patna : Pakistan beat South Africa (SA) by 4 wickets in the 3rd T20I at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan, on February 14, 2021, night, to win the three-match T20I series 2-1. Set a target of 165 runs, Pakistan scored 169/6 in 18.4 overs with captain Babar Azam scoring 44 in 30 balls hitting 5 fours and 1 six and opener Mohd Rizwan (wk) scoring 42 in 30 balls hitting 5 fours and 2 sixes. Pakistan had won the toss and opted to bowl.

Fast medium bowler Hasan Ali remained unbeaten on 20 in 7 balls hitting 1 four and 2 sixes while Mohd Nawaz remained unbeaten on 18 in 11 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. Spinner Tabraiz Shamsi (SA) took 4/25 in 4 overs.

Earlier batting first, SA scored 164/8 in 20 overs with all-rounder David Miller scoring an unbeaten 85 in 45 balls with 5 fours and 7 sixes while opener Janneman Malan scored 27 in 17 balls with 3 fours and 1 six. SA were reduced to 48/6 after 6.4 overs but ultimately reached 164/8 thanks to an explosive batting by David Miller. Heinrich Klaasen (captain & wk) was out for a duck.

Mohd Nawaz was named Player of The Match while Mohd Rizwan was named Player Of The Series. Pakistan have beaten SA in T20I series for the first time. Pakistan had also won the two-match test series 2-0.