Speed Post News Network

Patna : In a major and moral victory for Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on November 17, 2017, recognised the group led by him as the Janata Dal (United) rejecting the claim of the Sharad Yadav faction over the party’s name and election symbol.

The ECI, in its order, said the group led by Nitish Kumar has demonstrated overwhelming majority support in the legislature wing as well as majority in the national council of the party, the apex organisational body of the JD(U). “The group led by Nitish Kumar is hereby recognised as the Janata Dal (United). The group led by Nitish Kumar is entitled to use the reserved symbol ‘Arrow’ of the party as a recognised State Party in Bihar,” the ECI said in its order, according to JD(U) sources.

Nitish and Sharad parted ways after the former resigned as the chief minister of Grand Alliance Government on July 26, 2017, and formed new government with the help of BJP and other NDA constituents. The JD(U) later returned to the NDA fold.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *