Speed Post News Network

Patna : Sita Sahu, an NDA backed candidate, was on June 19, 2017, elected the first woman Mayor ( chief councillor) of Patna defeating Mahagathbandhan backed candidate Ranji Rai by three votes. Sita Sahu, who was elected from ward number 58 of Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC), got 35 votes while Rajni Rai, who was elected from ward number 22 C, got 35 votes. Two votes were declared invalid. The election was held at Patna Collectorate.

NDA baked Vinay Kumar Pappu was elected Deputy Mayor. He was elected councillor from ward number 28. The PMC comprises 75 wards and the elections were held on June 4, 2017. Altogether 49 women were elected ward councillor in the PMC polls which is not held on party lines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *