Speed Post News Network

New Delhi: The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has informed that it has reviewed and revised its grading system from a four grade system to a seven grade system. More number of letter grades within the same CGPA range will lead to further differentiation in quality of accredited institutions.

The details of the revised grading system, being implemented from 1st July, 2016 onwards, are:

CGPA Letter Grade Status
3.76 – 4.00 A++ Accredited
3.51 – 3.75 A+ Accredited
3.01 – 3.50 A Accredited
2.76 – 3.00 B++ Accredited
2.51 – 2.75 B+ Accredited
2.01 – 2.50 B Accredited
1.51 – 2.00 C Accredited
≤ 1.50 D Not Accredited

The NAAC has further informed that the present system of descriptors for letter grades, i.e., Very Good, Good, Satisfactory, Unsatisfactory, has been discontinued in the revised grading system. This information was given by  Union Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar on Thursday in a written reply to a Rajya Sabha question.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *