Speed Post News Network

Patna : Three-term BJP MLA from Lakhisarai Assembly Constituency Vijay Kumar Sinha, 53, was elected new Speaker of Bihar legislative assembly on November 25, 2020, in a first trial of strength between the ruling NDA and opposition Mahagathbandhan ( Grand Alliance).  Sinha was Labour Resources Minister in CM Nitish Kumar’s previous government.

Sinha secured 126 votes as against 114 polled in favour of RJD’s Awadh Bihari Chaudhary, a six-term MLA from Siwan District. The voting was marred by rumpus caused by opposition members who protested the presence of CM Nitish Kumar on the floor of the House on the ground that he was a member of Bihar legislative council. The Chair,however, overruled the objection saying being leader of the House the chief minister’s presence is legitimate. The NDA had won 125 seats in the recently concluded Bihar Assembly polls while Mahagathbandhan had got 110 seats.

The opposition also demanded voting by secret ballot which was turned down by pro-tem Speaker Jitan Ram Manjhi who went ahead with headcount after dissatisfaction was raised by the opposition over voice vote.

Later, CM Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Ministers : Tarkishor Prasad and Renu Devi,  and opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav escorted Sinha to the Speaker’s Chair.