Speed Post News Network

Patna : Australia beat New Zealand by 19 runs under Duckworth -Lewis (DL) method in the final of tri-series T20I at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand, in a rain hit match on February 21, 2018. With this win, Australia have become the Number 1 team in the world in the T20 format.

Batting first after winning the toss, New Zealand made 150/9 in 20 overs with former Captain Ross Taylor scoring an unbeaten 43 in 38 balls hitting 2 fours and a six. Openers Martin Guptil and Colin Munro made 21 and 29 runs respectively. Munro made 29 in 14 balls hitting 3 fours and 2 sixes. Captain Kane Williamson made 9.

For Australia, spinner A Agar took 3/27 in 4 overs. Pacers K Richardson took 2/30 while  Andrew Tye also took 2/30. B Stanlake and M Stoinis took one wicket each. Agar was declared Player of the Match.

In reply, Australia had made 121/3 in 14.4 overs when the play was stopped for the second time due to rain with Glen Maxwell batting on 20 and Aaron Finch batting on 18. Australia Captain David Warner made 25 while his opening partner D Arcy Short made 50 in 30 balls hitting 6 fours and 3 sixes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *