Kumar Rajiv Nayan

Ara : Sixteen  panchayats of Bhojpur district were declared Open Defection Free (ODF) on December 30 at a Swachhta Samaroh cum Swachhta Shapath programme was organized under the banner of Water and Sanitation Committee at Saanskritik Bhawan. The programme was inaugurated by Bhojpur District Magistrate Birendra Prasad Yadav.

The 16 panchayats declared ODF are:  Sunderpur Baraza and Ijari under Ara block, Kusmaha of Udwantnagar block, Kulharia of Koelwar block, West Babura under Barhara block, Lachhu Tola of Shahpur block, Ghagha of Bihia block, Dawa of Jagdishpur block, Bagar under Tarari block, Pawana under Agiaw block, Semrao under Charpokhari block, Ichari under Garhani block, Chilhaus of Sandesh block, Sahar and Gulzarpur of Sahar block, and Tilhath under Piro block.

Speaking on the occasion, the DM said the sanitation programme is not only a government programme but a public adventure that will succeed with strong will and labour of the masses. He said that the programme will not succeed till it is made a campaign. He termed the lavatory as ‘Izzat Ghar’ and said that going in the open to attend call of nature is health hazard and people should get rid of it. Tthe DM honoured the mukhias of all the 16 panchayats by presenting them with shield.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *