Speed Post News Network

New Delhi : Minister of Sate (I/C) for Labour and Employment Santosh Kumar Gangwar will give away Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) and National Safety Awards (NSA) for the performance year 2016 at Dr Ambedkar International Center, New Delhi, on September 17, 2018.

The Ministry of Labour & Employment has been operating the “Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar” (Previously known as Shram Vir National Awards) and “National Safety awards” since 1965. These Award schemes are operated by the technical wing of the Ministry, the Directorate General Factory Advice Service & Labour Institutes (DGFASLI), Mumbai, an attached office of the Ministry of Labour & Employment. DGFASLI renders technical advice/service to workers, their representatives and managements in factories and docks to make the industrial activities safe and to promote workers’ health and well being.

VRP is awarded in recognition of outstanding suggestions given by a worker or group of workers and implemented by the management during the previous calendar year resulting in improvement in quality, productivity and working conditions such as safety, health and environmental conservation in the industrial undertakings where “Suggestion Schemes” are in operation.

The 28 VRP awarded will be given in the form of cash prize and a certificate of merit in three categories: Five Awards of Rs 75,000 each will be given in Class ‘A’, eight Awards of Rs 50,000 each in Class ‘B’, and fifteen Awards of Rs 25,000 will be given in class ‘C’ categories, according to a PIB release.

The NSA is given in recognition of outstanding safety performance of industrial establishments, construction sites, ports and installations under Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) to stimulate and maintain the interests of both the management and the workers in accident prevention programmes. The awards are given under twelve schemes of which ten are meant for Factories /Construction sites /Installations under AERB and two are for Ports. Under each award, a Shield and a Certificate of Merit is given to each of the Award Winners and Runners-up. For the performance year-2016, a total of 128 Awards will be given which include 76 winners and 52 runner-ups.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *