Speed Post News Network

New Delhi : World’s best batsman and captain of Indian cricket team Virat Kohli and weightlifter S Mirabai Chanu will be conferred on Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award 2018.

Twenty sportspersons will get Arjuna Award 2018. They are : Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Naib Subedar Jinson Johnson (Athletics), Hima Das (Athletics), Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy (Badminton), Subedar Satish Kumar (Boxing), Smriti Mandhana ( Cricket), Subhankar Sharma ( Golf), Manpreet Singh ( Hockey), Ms Savita ( Hockey), Ravi Rathore ( Polo), Rahi Sarnobat ( Shooting), Ankur Mittal (Shooting), Shreyasi Singh (Shooting), Manika Batra ( Table Tennis), G Sathiyan ( Table Tennis), Rohan Bopanna ( Tennis), Sumit ( Wrestling), Puja Kadian ( Wushu), Ankur Dhama ( Para-athletics), and Manoj Sarkar (Para-Badminto).

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organised function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on September 25, 2018.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2018. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs 10 lakh and certificate, according to a PIB release.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognizs and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistency outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice (Ms.) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar (Former Judge of Delhi High Court).

Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Justice Mukul Mudgal (Former Chief Justice, High Court of Punjab & Haryana).  Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports). Selection Committee for MAKA Trophy was headed by Ashok Kumar, former Olympian. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *