Speed Post News Network

Patna : South Africa (SA) defeated West Indies (WI) by 8 wickets in a Group 1 match of ICC T20 World Cup at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai, UAE, on October 26, 2021, evening, as Aiden Markram scored an unbeaten 51 in 26 balls hitting 2 fours and 4 sixes, one each of Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Hayden Walsh, and Andre Russel, and Rassine van der dssen scoring an unbeaten 43 in 51 balls with 3 fours. Mmarkram and Dussen added 83 runs in their unbroken partnership for 3rd wicket. SA had won the toss and opted to bowl. Fast bowler Anrich Nortje was named Player Of The Match. WI had lost their first match to England.

Chasing a target of 144 runs, SA scored 144/2 in 18.2 overs only even as they had lost their first wicket that of captain Temba Bavuma ( opener) with only 4 runs on board. Bavuma was run out for 2. Reeza Hendricks and Dussen added 57 runs for the 2nd wicket. Hendricks fell to Akea Hosein for 39 in 30 balls with 4 fours and 1 six.

Earlier batting first, WI had scored 143/8 in 20 overs with opener Evin Lewis scoring 56 in 35 balls hitting 3 fours and 6 sixes including 2 off Markram in 5th over and 1 off Rabada while captain Kieron Pollard scored 26 in 20 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. Opener Lendl Simmons scored 16 runs in 35 balls. Chris Gayle fell to fast medium bowler Dwaine Pretorius for 12 runs in 12 balls with one six. Nicholas Pooran (wk) fell to spinner for 12 while Andre Russel fell to fast bowler Anrich Nortje for 5. Dwayne Bravo remained 8 not out.

For SA, Pretorious took 3/17 in 2 overs while fast bowler Anrich Nortje took 1/14 in 4 overs. Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada took 1/27 in 4 overs while spinner Keshav Maharaj took 2/24 in 4 overs.