Speed Post News Network

Patna : South Africa (SA) beat Sri Lanka (SL) four wickets in a Group 1 match of ICC T20 World Cup at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE, on October 30, 2021, evening, as all-rounder David Miller hit two sixes on successive balls  and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada hit a four in the last over bowled by fast medium bowler Lahiru Kumara.  SA needed 15 runs in last over and they scored 18 runs on first five balls of the over. SA had won the toss and opted to bowl.

Chasing a target of 143 runs, SA scored 146/6 in 19.5 overs. SA spinner Tabraiz Shamsi was named Player Of The Match for taking 3/17 in 4 overs.

But, SA did not have a good start as they lost their first two wickets with only 26 runs on board. Opener Reeza Hendricks fell to fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera for 11 making it 25/1. His opening partner Quinton de Kock also fell to Chameera for 9 and it was 26/2. Rassie van de Dussen was run out for 16 making it 49/3.

Captain Temba Bavuma and Aiden Markram added 47 runs for the 4th wicket. Markram fell to leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga for 19 making it 96/4. Hasaranga then took two wickets on successive balls in 18th over to give a new twist to the match. Bavuma fell Hasaranga for 46 in 46 balls with 1 four and 1 six and it was 112/5. Fast medium bowler Dwaine Pretorius fell to Hasaranga for zero on the next ball and it was 112/6. Hasaranga took hat-tric in the match spanned over two overs.

But, Miller and Rabada added 34 runs in their unbroken partnership for the 7th wicket to seal victory for SA. Miller remained unbeaten on 23 in 13 hitting 2 sixes while Raba remained 13 not out in 7 balls hitting 1 four and 1 six.

Batting first, SL were all out for 142 in 20 overs with opener Pathum Nissanka scoring 72 in 58 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes. Tabraiz Shamsi and Dwaine Pretorius took 3 wickets each