Law Kumar Mishra

Patna: All the five candidates for Rajya Sabha and seven for the biennial elections to Bihar legislative council are likely to declared elected uncontested on June 3 as equal number of candidates have filed their papers when nominations closed on Tuesday. Scrutiny of papers will be held by returning officer on Wednesday and June 3 is the last date of withdrawal of candidature.

On last date of filing of papers, BJP’s former state president Gopal Narain Singh filed his nomination for Rajya Sabha and Arjun Sahani, president of Fishermen’s co-oeprative society and Vinod Narain Jha, principal spokesman of BJP, filed their papers for Vidhan Parishad elections. With the NDA haing 58 members in the  state assembly, they will have smooth sail.

Earlier, there was suspense over result of one council seats as RJD chief Lalu Prasad had said that he would field a third RJD candidate for the council polls. Had the RJD fielded one more candidate for the council poll, there would have been contest between the RJD’s third candidate and BJP’s second candidate. There are four Independents in the assembly. The CPI(ML) does not participate in council polls.
Singh’s nomination was proposed by former chief minister and HAM(S) president Jeetan Ram Manjhi. All senior BJP leaders includingstate BJP chief Mangal Pandey, former deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi, leader of opposition in the state assembly Prem Kumar, union ministers Ramkripal Yadav and Girirraj Singh, senior MP Ashwini Kumar Chaubey were present on the occasion. There are five candidates  for five RS seats. They are: Sharad Yadav and RCP Sinha, JD(U), Ram Jethmalani and Misa Bharti(RJD) and Gopal Narain Singh(BJP).




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *