Speed Post News Network

Patna : New Zealand (NZ) beat Sri Lanka by 45 runs in the 1st ODI at Bay Oaval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand, on January 3, 2019, riding on a sparkling 138 in 139 balls with 11 fours and 5 sixes by opener Martin Guptil and 76 in 74 balls with 6 fours by captain Kane Williamson. Guptil was declared Player of the Match. NZ now lead the 3-match ODI series 1-0.

Electing to bat after winning the toss, New Zealand scored 371/7 in 50 overs. New Zealand lost their first wicket on 23 when opener Colin Munro fell to Sri Lanka captain and fast bowler Lasith Malinga for 13. Guptil and Williamson added 163 runs for the second wicket. Guptil also added 88 runs with former captain Ross Taylor who scored 54 in 37 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. James Nisham remained not out on 47 in just 13 balls with 6 sixes. Wicketkeeper Tim Seifert made 11 while Henry Nicholls was run out for 15. For Sri Lanka, Lashith Malinga took 2/78, Nuwan Pradeep 2/72, and Thisara Perera 2/80.

Chasing a target of 372, Sri Lanka were all out for 326 with opener and wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella scoring 76 in 50 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes and Kusal Perera making 102 in 86 balls with 13 fours and a six. Opener Danushka Gunathilaka scored 43 in 62 balls with 3 fours. Dickwella and Gunathilaka added 119 runs for the first wicket. Kusal Mendis scored 18 while Dinesh Chandimal made 10. Asela Gunaratne scored 11.

For New Zealand, James Nisham took 3/38 in 8 overs while Trent Boult took 2/65 in 10 overs. Lockie Ferguson took 2/65 while Ish Sidhi took 2/53. Matt Henry took 1/87.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *