Speed Post News Network

Patna : New Zealand beat India by 40 runs in the second T20 International at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot, on November 4, 2017, night, to level the three-match T20 series 1-1.

Chasing New Zealand’s huge total of 196/2 in 20 overs, India could score only 156/7 with Captain Virat Kohli making 65 runs and M S Dhoni 49. India made a disastrous start losing the wicket of opener Shikhar Dhawan at the score of 6 and that of Rohit Sharma at 11. Dhawan made only one run while Rohit made 5. Kohli made 65 in 42 balls hitting 8 four and a six while Dhoni scored 49 in 37 balls hitting three sixes and two fours. S Iyer made 23 and Hardik Pandya one run. Axar Patel made 5. For New Zealand, Trent Boult¬† took 4/34.

Earlier, electing to bat first after winning the toss, New Zealand made a massive 196/2 riding on an explosive 109 not out by opener Colin Munro and 45 by his opening partner Martin Guptil. Munro hit 7 sixes and 7 fours in his 109 not out while Guptil hit 3 sixes and equal number of fours in his 45. Munro and Guptil pulverised the Indian bowling attack in their 105 run partnership for the first wicket. New Zealand Captain K Williamson made 12 run.  India had won the first T20 International by 53 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *