Speed Post News Network

Patna:  After over 8 months of formation of Grand Alliance government, the Law department of Bihar government on Thursday released the list of 82 lawyers who have been appointed government lawyers in Patna High Court. Chittranjan Sinha, who had been defending RJD president Lalu Prasad in fodder scam cases, has been appointed additional principal advocate general (APAG) along with Lait Kishore.

The list has two additional principal AGs, 13 additional AGs, 13 government lawyers, 27 Government Pleaders and 27 standing counsels.

Nominees recommended by RJD chief Lalu Prasad dominate the list in all categories of appointment, according to secretariat sources. Some lawyers who had been practising in civil courts and district sessions court have also found  berth as GPs. Ashutosh Ranjan Pandey, a senior Congress leader, is among the 13 additional advocate generals.Principal AG Ram Balak Mahto had submitted the list to the law secretary in Friday. After approval of the chief minister,it was released on Thursday.

In the list released in December 2013, there were 91 lawyers on the list. All were loyal to the Nitish Kumar as he had reorganised the legal set up after snapping ties with the BJP .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *