Speed Post News Network

Patna : Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by three wickets in the 41st match of IPL at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE, on September 28, 2021, night, as Nitish Rana scored an unbeaten 36 in 27 balls hitting 2 fours and 2 sixes and opener Shbman Gill scored 30 runs in 33 balls with 1 four and 2 sixes. KKR had won the toss and opted to bowl. KKR have now 10 points from 11 games while DC have 16 points from 11 games. Sunil Narine was named Player Of The Match.

Chasing a target of 128 runs, KKR scored 130/7 in 18.2 overs to seal victory in a low scoring match although DC fast bowler Avesh Khan took 3/13 in 3 overs.

Spinner Sunil Narine hit DC fast bowler Kagiso Rabada for 2 sixes and 1 four on successive balls ( 6,4,6) in his 3rd over, the 16th over of the innings. Narine fell to fast bowler Anrich Nortje for 21 in 10 balls. KKR captain Eoin Morgan fell to spinner Ravichandran Ashwin for zero while Dinesh Karthik (wk) fell to fast bowler Avesh Khan for 12 runs in 14 balls with 2 fours. Opener Venkatesh Iyer fell to spinner Lalit Yadav for 14 runs while Rahul Yripathi fell to Avesh Khan for 9.

Batting first, DC were restricted to just 127/9 in 20 overs with captain Rishbah Pant (wk) scoring 39 runs in 36 balls with 3 fours. Pant was run out. Openers Shikhar Dhawan and Steven Smith scored 24 and 39 runs respectively. They added 35 runs for the first wicket. Dhawan fell to fast bowler Lockie Ferguson for 24 in 20 balls with 5 fours. Shreyas Iyer fell to spinner Sunil Narine for 1 and it was 40/2 Smith fell to Ferguson for 39 in 34 balls hitting 4 fours making it 77/3. Shimron Hetmyer fell to medium fast bowler Venkatesh Iyer for 4. Axar patel also fell to Iyer for zero.

for KKR, Ferguson, Venkatesh Iyer, and Sunil Narine took 2 wickets each while Tim Southee took one wicket.