Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated Australia by seven wickets in the 5th ODI at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur, on October 1, 2017, clinching the five match ODI series 4-1. Replying to Australia’s 242/9 in 50 overs, India made 243/3 in 42.5 overs. Openers Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane were involved in a 124 run partnership. Rohit Sharma hit 14th ODI century, his sixth  against Australia, hitting 11 fours and five sixes in his 125 run innings facing 109 balls. Sharma had also hit five sixes in the 4th ODI. Rahane hit 61 runs in 74 balls with 7 fours.

Skipper Virat Kolhi scored 39 hitting two fours in 55 balls. Rohit Sharma and Kohli were involved in 99 run partnership after departure of Rahane at 124. Manish Pandy remained not out on 11 and Kedar Jadhav was unbeaten on 5. For Australia, Adam Zampa took 2/59 in 8 overs while Nathan Coulter Nile took 1/42 in 9 overs.

In Australis’s 242/9, David Warner hit 53 and Aaron Finch 32 runs. They were involved in a 66 run opening stand. Skipper S Smith made 16 and M Stoinis 46 runs. Travis Head made 42 while Mathew Wade scored 20 runs. Among the Indian bowlers, Axar Patel took 3/38 in 10 overs and Jasprit Bumrah 2/51 in 10 overs. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Kedar Jadhav took one wicket each. James Faulkner was run out on 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *