Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated New Zeland by 6 run in the third ODI at Green Park, Kanpur, on October 29, 2017, to win the three match ODI series 2-1. Asked to bat first, India made 337/6 riding on centuries from 0pener Rohit Sharma and Captain Virat Kohli, who were involved in 230 run partnership after opener Shikhar Dhawan’s wicket fell at the score of 29. Dhawan made 14 runs.

It was Virat Kohli’s 32nd and Rohit Sharma’s 15th ODI century. Rohit made 147 runs off 138 balls hitting 18 fours and two sixes. Kohli made 113 off 106 balls hitting 9 fours and a six completing 9,000 runs in ODI cricket. M S Dhoni made 25 and Kedar Jadhav 18. Hardik Pandya made 8. For New Zealand,  T Southee took 2/66, Adam Milne 2/64 and M Santner 2/58. Trent Boult went wicketless giving away 81 runs in 10 overs.

Replying to India’s 337/6, New Zeland made 331/7 with Colin Munro making 75 in 62 balls hitting 8 fours and 3 sixes and Tom Latham scoring 65 in 52 balls hitting seven fours. Latham was run out. Skipper Kane Williamson made 54 in 84 balls hitting 8 fours. Ross Taylor made 39 in 47 balls hitting three fours while H Nicholls made 37 in 24 balls hitting 5 four and a six.

Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the Indian bowlers taking 3/47 in 10 overs while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar took 1/92 in 10 overs. Y Chahal took 2/47 in 10 overs. Chahal took the wickets of  Williamson and Munro. Bumrah took the wickets of opener Martin Guptil, Taylor and Santner. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar bowled  Nicholls. New Zealand had won the first ODI, India won the next two in the three match series.

One thought on “India defeat New Zealand by 6 runs in 3rd ODI at Kanpur, win series 2-1”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *