Speed Post News Network

Patna : Three time champion India entered the final of ICC Under-19 World Cup tournament for the 6th time on January 30, 2018, crushing Pakistan by 203 runs in the semi-final at Hagley Oval, Christchurch, New Zealand, with Subham Gill, 18, scoring an unbeaten 102 in 94 balls hitting 8 fours and right arm medium fast bowler Ishan Porel, 19, taking 4/17 in 6 overs.

India scored 272/9 in 50 overs and then bundled out Pakistan for a paltry 69 runs in 29.3 overs, their lowest in the ICC U19 World Cup. Shubham Gill was declared Man of the Match, his third of the tournament. He scored a century and three half-centuries in the tournament. Gill, the vice-captain, hails from from Fazilka in Punjab and plays for Punjab in the Ranji Trophy. He will play for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the IPL 2018. Porel hails from Hooghly, Bengal.

This was India’s third win over Pakistan in ICC U19 World Cup having also beaten them in 2012 and 2014. Pakistan had defeated India four times earlier in 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2010 in the ICC U19 World Cup. India is the only side which has entered the ICC U19 World Cup for the sixth time. India will play three time champion Australia in the final on February 3, 2018, at Mount Maunganui, New Zealand.

Electing to bat first after winning the tolls, India scored 59 runs in the power play ( 10 overs). Openers Parthiv Shaw, Captain, and Manjot Kalra put up 89 runs for the first wicket. Shaw was run out for 41 in 42 balls hitting 3 fours and a six while Kalra scored 47 runs in 57 balls hitting 7 fours. Anukul Sudhakar Roy made 33 in 45 balls hitting 4 fours while wicketkeeper Harvik Deasai scored 20 in 34 balls hitting 1 four. Shivam Mavi made 10.

For Pakistan, Muhammad Musa took 4/67 in 10 overs while Arshad Iqbal took 3/51 in 10 overs. Shaheen Afridi took 1/62 in 10 overs.

Chasing a victory target of 273 runs, the Pakistan innings collapsed to be all out for 69 runs only with wicketkeeper Rohail Nazir scoring 18 runs and Saad Khan making 15. Captain Hasan Khan made only one run. Openers Imran Shah and Muhammad Zaid Alam scored 2 and 7 respectively. Mohammad Musa remained not out on 10.

For India, Ishan Porel took 4/17 in 6 overs, Shiva Singh took 2/20 in 8 overs and Riyan Parag took 2/6 in 4 overs. Anukul Sudhakar Roy and Abhishekh Sharma also took one wicket each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *