Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated New Zealand (NZ) by 5 wickets in 1st T20I at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur, Rajasthan, on November 17, 2021, late night, as Suryakumar Yadav scored 62 runs in 40 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes while captain Rohit Sharma (opener) scored 48 runs in 36 balls hitting 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Chasing a target of 165 runs, India scored 166/5 in 19.4 overs to lead the three-match series 1-0. Rishabh Pant (wk) remained unbeaten on 17 runs in 17 balls with 2 fours. India lost the wicket of debutant Venkatesh Iyer (4) in last over. Suryakumar Yadav was named Player Of The Match.

India and won the toss and opted to bowl. Batting first, NZ scored 164/6 in 20 overs with opener Martin Guptill scoring 70 runs in 42 balls hitting 3 fours and 4 sixes and Mark Chapman scoring 63 runs in 50 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. For India, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 2/24 in 4 overs while spinner Ravichandran Ashwin took 2/23 in 4 overs.

Chasing the target, Rohit Sharma and K L Rahul added 50 runsĀ  for the first wicket. Rahul fell to spinner Mitchell Santner for 15. Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav then added 59 runs for the 2nd wicket. Rohit fell to fast medium bowler Trent Boult. Shreyas Iyer fell to fat medium bowler Tim Southee for 5. It added an element of drama to the chase.r