Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets in the second ODI at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune, on October 25, 2017, with 4 overs to spare to level the three match ODI series 1-1.

Dinesh Kartik, who returned to the Indian ODI side in the first ODI at Mumbai after a long gap and had scored 37 run, remained not out on 64 in 92 balls hitting 4 fours while M S Dhoni was unbeaten on 18. Shikhar Dhawan made 68 in 84 balls hitting 5 four and 2 sixes, Hardika Pandya 30 in 31 balls with two fours and a six and skipper Virat Kohli 29 in 29 balls with 3 fours and a six. Rohit Sharma made seven runs only.

For New Zealand, Trent Boult, who took 4 wickets in the first ODI, went wicketless in the 2nd ODI giving away 54 runs in 10 overs while Tim Southee took 1/60 in 9 overs. M Santner, who took two wickets in 1st ODI, took 1/30 in 10 overs. C de Grandhomme and A Milne took one wicket each.

Earlier, electing to bat first after winning the toss, New Zealand made 230/9 with H Nichools making 42 runs and Grandhomme 41. Skipper Kane Williamson made only three runs while wicketkeeper Tom Latham made 38 runs and M Santner 29. Rolls Raylor made 21 runs while Tim Southee remained unbeaten on 25.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *