Speed Post News Network

Patna : India defeated Bangladesh by 3 wickets in a nail biting finish to win the Asia Cup for the 7th time at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai, on September 28, 2018, late night. India beat Bangladesh on the last ball of the match with an injured Kedar Jadhav taking a leg bye. Jadhav remained not out on 23 with a four and a six while Kuldeep Yadav remained unbeaten on 5. Captain Rohit Sharma described the victory as a team effort. Coach Ravi Shastri appreciated the captaincy of Rohit Sharma saying he remained calm in the match and made good bowling changes.

Captain Rohit Sharma scored 48 with 3 fours and 3 sixes while M S Dhoni and Dinesh Karthin scored 36 and 37 runs respectively. Ravindra Jadeja made 23 while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar made 21 with a four and a six. Batting first Bangladesh were all out for 222 in 48.3 overs. India made 223/7 on the last ball of the innings.

Shikhar Dhawan, who scored 342 runs in the tournament, was declared Player of the Tournament. Bangladesh Opener Liton Das was declared Man of the Match for scoring 121 in 117 ball in the final, his first ODI century. India had also defeated Bangladesh in the Nidahas Trophy final early this year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *