Law Kumar Mishra

Patna: Former pesident of Bihar unit of BJP Gopal Narain Singh has been nominated as the party’s candidate for biennial election to Rajya Sabha. Party on Sunday also announced the name of a fish trader of Mishra Tola, Darbhanga, Arjun Sahni as its nominee for the Vidhan Parishad elections. The party is yet to announce its second candidate for the Parishad polls.

Meanwhile,  RJD’s candidate for Rajya Sabha election and noted lawyer Ram Jethmalani arrived here on Sunday evening and called on RJD chief Lalu Prasad. He will file his papers on Monday along with another RJD candidate Dr Misa Bharti.

BJP sources said the state election committee had sent names of three candidates: Gopal Narain Singh, former deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi and former union minister Shahnawaj Hussain to the central election committee. According to JP Nadda, Secretary of the central parliamentary board, Gopal Narain Singh is a veteran party leader and a former MLA too. Gopal Narain Singh had lost assembly elections from Nabinagar in  Aurangabad district  in 2015. He also runs a medical college in Rohtas district.

For the Vidhan Parishad, Arjun Sahni, a fish trader of Darbhanga, has been nominated. Vinod Narain Jha, principal spokesman of BJP, told Speedpost that the after careful study of the panel submitted by the state unit, central leadership finally selected Gopal Narain Singh as its nominee for Rajya Sabha. Sahni was in the past given party ticket for Vidhan Parishad polls from Local Body constituency but had lost.

For the second seat of Vidhan Parishad, BJP has not announced the name of its candidate as there was shortfall of four votes. Name of Rakesh Tiwari, president of the NRI cell (aprawavi sangh) is in circulation. Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who had come to Patna on Saturday to participated in the Vikash Parva celebrations had gone to Tiwari’s Pataliputra residence for dinner along with other leaders. Term of Harendra Pratap Pandey, another claimant from BJP ticket, is expiring in July.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *