Speed Post News Network

New Delhi : The Ministry of Earth Sciences celebrated its foundation day at Vigyan Bhavan in the national capital on July 28, 2018.Professor Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, DST, was the Chief Guest. The foundation day lecture was delivered by Dr Asahiko Taira, President, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC).

This year the Life Time Excellence award was given to Professor K S Valdiya from JNCASR, Bengaluru, for his significant contribution in the field of isotope geoscience. The National Awards for Ocean Science & technology was presented to Dr Satheesh Shenoi, Director, INOCIS, Hyderabad, and Dr R Venkatesan, NIOT, Chennai.

Dr B V Krishna Murthy, Retd. Director, SPL, ISRO, received the National Award for Atmospheric Science & technology. The National award for Geoscience & technology was presented to Prof. Sekhar Muddu, IISc, Bengaluru, and Prof Sunil Bajpai, Director, BSIP, Lucknow.

Dr Kusala Rajendran, IISc, Bengaluru, received the newly instituted National award for women scientist. The Young Researcher Awards was presented to Dr Mala S Bagiya, IIG, Mumbai, and Dr. Praveen Kumar, INOCIS, Hyderabad, for their outstanding work in Earth Science & Technology, according to a PIB release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *