Speed Post News Network

Patna : Delhi Capitals (DC) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by a humiliating 59 runs in the 19th match of IPL 2020 at Dubail International Cricket Stadium, Dubai, UAE, on October 5, 2020, late night, with fast bowlers : Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, taking four and two wickets respectively while spinners: Axal patel and Ravichandran Ashwin, took two and one wicket respectively.

DC scored 196/4 in 20 overs and then stopped RCB at 137/9 in 20 overs. RCB had won the toss but oped to bowl. It was DC’s fourth win in 5 matches in IPL 2020. For RCB, it was their 3rd loss in 5 matches. Axar patel was declared Player Of The Match for taking 2/18 in 4 overs..

DC opners Prthvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan added 68 runs for the first wicket. Shaw then fell to fast bowler Mohd Siraj for 42 in 23 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes and it was 68/1. Dhawan fell to fast bowler Isuru Udana for 32 in 28 balls with 3 fours making it 82/2. DC captain Shreyas Iyer fell to Moeen Ali for 11 making it 90/3. Rishabh Pant (wk) fell to Siraj for 37 in 25 balls hitting 3 fours and 2 sixes and it was 179/4. Pant and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis added 89 runs for the 4th wicket. Stoinis remained unbeaten on 53 in 26 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. Shimron Hetmyer remained unbeaten on 11 in 7 balls hitting a six.

Chasing a target of 197 runs, the RCB lost their first three wickets including that of star batsman AB de Villiers with only 43 runs on board. Opener Devdutt Padikkal fell to spinner Ravichandran Ashwin for 4 making it 20/1. His opening partner Aaron Finch fell to spinner Axar Patel for 13 and it was 27/2. AB de Villers (wk) fell to fast bowler Anrich Nortje for 9 making it 43/3. Moeen Ali fell to Axal Patel for 11 making it 75/4. Captain Virat Kohli fell to Rabada for 43 in 39 balls hitting 2 fours and a six and it was 94/5. Washington Sundar also fell to Rabada for 17 hitting 3 fours and it was 115/6. Shivam Dube too fell to Rabada for 11 making it 118/7. Isuru Udana also fell to Rabada for 1 and it was 119/8. Mohd Siraj fell not Nortje for 5 and it was 127/9. Navdeep Saini remained unbeaten on 12. Rabada took 4/24 in 4 overs.