Speed Post News Network

Patna : The Budget session of Bihar legislature began here on February 23, 2017,  with Governor Ram Nath Kovind addressing the joint session of Bihar legislative assembly and Bihar legislative council. Both the houses were adjourned till February 27 after paying tributes to former members of the two Houses.

Tributes were paid to late Kisohri Sinha, former MP, Ramnandan Singh, former minister, Surendra Prasad Tarun, former minister, Md Ezajul Haq, former minister, Pramod Kumar Sharma, Shanti Devi, film star Om Puri
and victims of the January 14 boat tragedy  in the Ganga opposite Gandhi Ghat, Patna.

In the legislative council, Chairman Awadesh Narain Singh nominated Nawal Kishore Yadav, Devesh Chandra Thakur, Kedarnath Pandey and Ramlakhan Ram as presiding officers for the session.

Water resources development minister Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh presented the Economic survey of 2016-17 in the Upper House and Finance minister Abdul Bari Sidiqqui in the Lower House. Former minister and BJP MLA Vinay Bihari, was not allowed entry into the assembly building as he was not properly  dressed.
The Economic survey report of Bihar presented in the Bihar assembly by finance minister Abdul Bari Sidiqqui claimed buoyancy in the state’s economy with higher tax collections from Sales- tax, Registration fees, Transport department, taxes on goods and passengers. These taxes together accounted for 96% of the state government’s tax receipts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *