Speed Post News Network

Patna : Australia defeated New Zealand (NZ) by 8 wickets in ICC T20 World Cup final at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai, UAE, to win the trophy for the first time on the back of an unbeaten 77 runs in 50 balls with 6 fours and 4 sixes by all-rounder Mitchell Marsh and opener David Warner’s 53 runs in 38 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes. Australia had won the toss and opted to bowl. NZ had also lost to England in ICC ODI World Cup final in 2019.

Chasing a target of 173 runs, Australia scored 173/2 in 18.5 overs. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell remained unbeaten on 28 runs in 18 balls hitting 4 fours and 1 six. Maxwell hit the winning four. Warner and Marsh added 92 runs for the 2nd wicket. Marsh and Maxwell added 66 runs in their unbroken partnership for the 3rd wicket. captain Aaron Finch ( opener0 fell to fast medium bowler Trent Boult for 5 runs making it 15/1. Warner also fell to Boult for 53 runs making it 107/2. NZ fast medium bowler Tim Southee conceded 43 runs in 3.5 overs without taking any wicket. Trent Boult took 2/18 in 4 overs.

Batting first, NZ had scored 172/4 in 20 overs with captain Kane Williamson scoring 85 runs in 48 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes. Opener Martin Guptill scored 28 runs. James neesham remained unbeaten on 13 in 7 balls with 1 six.