Speed Post News Network

New Delhi : All the 1,137 statutory cities and towns in six states of Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Kerala and Telangana are set to be declared Open Defecation Free (ODF) by October 2 this year marking the completion of three years of Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban). This is based on the regular reports being received from States/UTs.

With Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat and Chandigarh having already declared all the 281 cities and towns under their jurisdiction ODF, a total of 1,418 cities and towns would become ODF by this October, two years ahead of the mission deadline of October 2, 2019. These nine states account for 39% of the total 4,041 mission cities.  This was revealed during the review of progress of Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban) by D S Mishra, Secretary(Urban Development) on July 3, 2017, according to a PIB release.

The number of mission cities in Maharashtra are 384 followed by Madhya Pradesh -378, Chattisgarh-168, Kerala-93, Telangana -73 and Jharkhand-41. Gujarat had already declared all 170 cities and towns ODF while Andhra Pradesh had done so in respect of 110. Chandigarh is the only UT to have become ODF, according to the PIB release.

One thought on “All cities, towns in six states to be declared ODF in Oct”
  1. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme
    in our community. Your site offered us with helpful info to work on. You’ve performed a formidable activity and our entire
    neighborhood will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *